While Derry City proved stiff opposition for Dundalk on a number of occasions last season, you have to go back almost seven years to the last time the Candystripes left Oriel Park with a win.

That came on April 12th 2013 when two Rory Patterson penalties either side of a Barry McNamee strike cancelled out an 18th minute opener from Vinny Faherty. The latter’s goal in that 3-1 win would prove to be his only one for the club.

Dane Massey and Andy Boyle are the sole survivors in the Dundalk ranks from the starting 11 that night although Patrick Hoban was a late substitute with Chris Shields and John Mountney also on the bench.

None of the Derry squad are still at the Brandywell although the starting 11 that night did include current Dundalk assistant manager RuaidhrĂ­ Higgins while Patrick McEleney and Michael Duffy both came off the bench for their hometown club.

Since that game the Candystripes have visited Oriel Park on 13 occasions (including twice in the FAI Cup), losing eight and drawing five. They have also been outscored by 30 goals to 10.

Only once have Dundalk and Derry City met on the opening night. That came in the Candystripes’ memorable 88/89 treble winning campaign when the sides met at the Brandywell in a game which finished 1-1.

Paul Hegarty gave the home side the lead in the 53rd minute before Barry Kehoe equalised with a 20 yard strike 12 minutes later.

It’s three seasons since Dundalk last won on the opening night. That came when goals from Robbie Benson and Ciaran Kilduff helped the Lilywhites to a 2-1 win over Shamrock Rovers at Oriel Park in a game in which Graham Burke both scored and got sent off in. In 2018 Stephen Kenny’s side drew 0-0 with Bray Wanderers on the opening night while last season Vinny Perth’s managerial debut finished in a 1-1 draw at home to Sligo Rovers.