Mick Fairclough’s near 39-year record as the last Dundalk player to be capped at international level is set to come to an end this week.

The Annagassan man – who won a league, FAI Cup and League Cup with Dundalk in the early 80s – remains the last from the club to win international honours while still at Oriel Park having come off the bench at the Arima Municipal Stadium for Brendan O’Callaghan in the 2-1 defeat to Trinidad and Tobago on May 30th 1982.

Nine days earlier he had his made his Republic of Ireland debut in a 1-0 defeat to Chile on Eoin Hand’s side’s ill-fated South American tour which included a 7-0 thumping by Brazil in which he didn’t feature.

Since then many ex-Dundalk players have received international recognition, with Daryl Horgan in Stephen Kenny’s plans for the World Cup Qualifiers with Serbia on Wednesday and Luxembourg on Saturday, as well as the friendly with Qatar next Tuesday. However, Raivis Jurkovskis and Sonni Nattestad’s inclusion in the Latvia and Faroe Islands squads mean they are set to become the 12th and 13th players to be capped while at Dundalk.

Jurkovskis will be hoping to add to his 13 caps when Latvia play World Cup Qualifiers at home to Montenegro on Wednesday before travelling to face the Netherlands on Saturday and Turkey on Tuesday.

Likewise, Nattestad will be expecting to add to his 31 caps for the Faroes when they take on Moldova on Thursday, Austria on Sunday and Scotland next Wednesday.

Should either or both play they will be the first to be capped at international level in a competitive game while at Dundalk since Turlough O’Connor and the late Tommy McConville were part of the Irish side which lost 6-0 to Austria in Vienna in a European Championship qualifier almost 50 years ago in October 1971.

Dundalk’s international caps so far are as follows:

  1. Robert Egan
  2. Joey Donnelly
  3. Billy O’Neill
  4. Mick Hoy
  5. Dicky Lunn
  6. Terry Murray
  7. Tony O’Connell
  8. Tommy McConville
  9. Turlough O’Connor
  10. Synan Braddish
  11. Mick Fairclough