Dundalk squad taking shape for the season as new squad numbers are announced

Dundalk squad taking shape for the season as new squad numbers are announced

Dundalk’s squad for the new season came a step closer to being finalised last week with the signing of former Derry City and Sligo Rovers star Junior Ogedi-Uzokwe.

The 26-year-old, who was top scorer in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division with 14 goals in 2019, was one of three new arrivals at the club before Thursday’s deadline alongside American duo Jesus Perez and Taner Dogan.

Dogan has since gone out on loan to Athlone Town, where he spent last season, and will be joined in the Midlands by Canadian full back Terique Mohammed who has been training with Filippo Giovagnoli’s side in recent weeks.

While the Lilywhites were linked with a move for Nottingham Forest winger Yassine En-Neyah, it is believed that a move for the player was never pursued beyond an initial interest.

The club had been hopeful of adding a third goalkeeper to provide competition for Alessio Abibi and Peter Cherrie but a bid to sign Barnsley’s Corey Addai on loan broke down the weekend before last.

While the window is now closed, Dundalk can still sign out of contract players with a third goalkeeper understood to be still on the radar.

The club also revealed their new list of squad numbers for the 2021 season last week with Andy Boyle reverting back to the number 4 jersey he had initially worn before his departure for Preston North End in January 2017.

Jesus Perez has also caught the eye having selected to wear the number 90 jersey this season.

The list in full is as follows:

1 Alessio Abibi
3 Brian Gartland
4 Andy Boyle
5 Chris Shields
6 Sonni Nattestad
7 Michael Duffy
8 Sam Stanton
9 Patrick Hoban
10 Greg Sloggett
11 Patrick McEleney
13 Raivis Jurkovskis
14 Peter Cherrie
15 Darragh Leahy
16 Sean Murray
17 Ole Erik Midtskogen
20 Junior
21 Daniel Cleary
23 Cameron Dummigan
25 Val Adedokun
27 Daniel Kelly
28 Ryan O’Kane
29 David McMillan
90 Jesus Perez